On a Friday night in Maine our baby girl came into our lives the life of the party.  Alone, or at least the only baby born on the ward that night, the nurse carried her around an expectation she had from then on.  Along with the expectation that the right family without an older brother would come by and rescue her, I think she’s passed this one.  There are advantages to an older brother in high school.

She was at once part of the family and her own self.  She was, and still is a morning person.  I had a maternal grandmother like this otherwise can’t explain it!  She has terrific fashion sense, like her dad.  She takes marvelous care of the people around her including her sometimes trying younger brother.  She is growing to be a lovely and talented woman.  I can’t wait to see what she will do next!  Though clearly getting at least one more point on her written driving test than her brother is on the agenda;  somethings don’t change.

So a fond birthday wish to my now too old for lullabies daughter here’s the one I wrote for her.  She the only one with her own.  The boys were satisfied with the standards.

Good night my dear and darling baby.  Good night my dear and darling one.  Good night my dear and darling baby.  We’ll see you in the morning sun.

Sleep well my dear and darling baby.  Rest well my dear and darling one.  Sleep well my dear and darling baby.  For you God sent his only Son.

Grow well my dear and darling baby.  Live well my dear and darling one.  Grow well my dear and darling baby.  Show God’s love to every one.

Blessings for the celebrations along your path!  May they be many and reminders of God’s great and gracious love.

 

3 thoughts on “Our Girl

  1. Such a sweet tribute to our Madeline. Those great attributes come naturally with you and Steve as her role models. Having her own lullaby written by her mom is priceless.
    Love,
    Mamaw

Leave a Reply

