I read another blog today by a busy, overachieving young mom who was trying to make a go of working on the computer from home but decided it was simpler to home school.  I had to laugh.  The simplicity movement usually strikes me that way, I’m afraid. I hear people, mostly women, talk about simplicity in terms that sound to me like giving up without losing face.  They stay home, but they make their own bread, starting with growing the wheat.  Do you know these women?  If you know me, you know I am not one of them.

I like home.  I sometimes fill out job applications.  I don’t mind working.  I seem to have plenty of work right in front of me which is usually why I fill out job applications.   But what is my purpose?  There was a song I learned as a small child, I loved it, it had motions, and words easy to remember; still my favorite kind by the way.  “I am a promise.  I am a possibility.  I am a promise, with a capitol p.  I’m a great, big, bundle of potentiality…”  Frighteningly close to my oldest’s choice as a young one,”…you can be anything that you want to be…”

These are the messages of our culture.  They imply greatness; or at least potential greatness.  And they make us malcontents from an early age.  For a long time I wasn’t a big fan of the catechism questions.  Then I taught 2s and 3s and explored in detail the question of “Who made you?” and the next few following.  I was struck by the basic truth, go figure.  But more importantly, by the fact that answers existed to hard questions like “Why am I here?”  And I already knew them, I just didn’t always put them together with what was going on in my life or in the world around me.

As I struggled with the purpose behind raising young children, and now the timing of letting go as college mail floods my inbox and my mailbox for my high school freshman!  I’m reminded that there is a plan.  And the God who’s Spirit led me to learn the verse that promises His plan in Jeremiah (see 29:11-14) fulfills them in prophesy in Revelation and will make all things new in eternity.  There is no greater potentiality than that!  And nothing I can achieve will rival what He will do in and through me if I seek to live for Him.  So, the simple things, dishes, laundry, toilets and floors may have to be enough.  The blessings of time to write, time for lunch with girlfriends new and known, and the music from the guitar guy and his talented young ones will be enough.  And enough is plenty to be thankful for.

Blessings for a time when you have enough; and know what a blessing it is!

For more on the 2s and 3s class at church see: Who Made You? The Reason For Church

5 thoughts on “Simply Ordinary

  1. Amen! Jer. 29! God DOES have a purpose and plan for our lives. Dishes, laundry, toilets and floors! Love it. What a privilege to be a part of a family and have to work for them and with them! God bless you and your writing! Love you, Ellen Z

  2. Good perspective. We were just studying the Tower of Babel at which man is disobeying God’s mandate to disperse and fill the earth and instead he builds a tower to heaven to make a name for himself.
    Rev. 2:17 tells us that the best name we can have is the one God gives us and writes on the white stone. Our name and our significance come from glorifying our great God.

Leave a Reply

