Ah yes, I’m finally in the “new” year.  Today I started the Women’s Bible study on Quiet Time.  I really wasn’t going to.  But then, I couldn’t find my Bible.  So I thought I might try accountability.  Catherine Martin of quiettime.org is speaking on “Six Secrets To A Powerful Quiet Time”.  I bought a new Bible at church on Sunday.  It’s called the Journaling Bible by Crossway in the ESV Version.  It has great margins for note taking as  I usually lose a journal somewhere around Easter.  By the time I find it again I’ve started another one.  But this week I was able to take sermon notes in Ecclesiastes next to the passage.  The sermon was good and can be heard at shadygrovepca.org, with Pastor Charlie Baile preaching.  Actually, the sermon is another reason I’m doing the Bible study.  The series on Ecclesiastes is a wake up call to evaluate investments.  What am I really investing in?  Is what I’m investing in of eternal value?  What’s really important to me?

I can’t believe how many times I have to ask myself these questions.  I can’t believe how easily I forget the answers.  This morning Catherine Martin asked us to define a life goal based on Psalm 27:4 to define our one thing to ask of the Lord.  This is her life verse.  I was reminded of times the I have chosen verses to memorize verses that have stayed with me.  Jeremiah 29:11 and following

For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you.  You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.  I will be found by you…”

And Proverbs 3:5-8

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord, and turn away from evil. It will be healing to your flesh and refreshment to your bones.

It’s inspiring to start something good like Bible study. I also bought a workout video and have started aerobic walking with Leslie Sansone.  I’ve walked seven miles and the kids have done more.  We all love it!  It’s refreshing to begin.  A new activity.  A new year.  And still thankful for the lessons past and greatful for the hand of God that holds the future.  Blessings.

3 thoughts on “Beginnings

  1. Hi Amy,

    Oh, how I can identify with “easily forgetting the answers” to what seem like fundamental Christian principles. I too am working on keeping consistently in bible reading and studying. I’m excited to see how we’re growing closer to the Lord here in Western PA but I keep having to remind myself (or He reminds me) of keeping a “firm foundation”. I think of you often as I sing “Painting Pictures of Egypt” up here when I miss Shady Grove (though I guess equating Shady Grove to Egypt isn’t very kind and not what I mean…just missing everyone and wanting to go back but knowing that we’re supposed to be here. I’ve appreciated your insights and think of you often. ;):) Love to everyone!

    Love,
    Susann

Leave a Reply

