One year I bought 5 pumpkins.  We had a “head” decorated for each family member complete with Dad’s hat!  That was the year I thought it was a waste to throw away all that pumpkin and buy a can to make bread or pie, so I baked one.  Chopped it, skinned it and popped it in a dish in the oven, FOREVER…  still too stringy.  Then I was making applesauce, a skill I discovered in Maine one year with a crockpot and a Xerox box full of delicious apples from the grove of some friends.  13 quarts later I had it down.  Usually now I do one or two at a time.  Anyway, it seemed like I could treat the pumpkins like giant apples and make “pumpkin sauce” that would serve my purposes quite well.  And it does…

Chop one medium pumpkin, already carved out, into managable pieces, cut off skin.  In a large sauce pan melt 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of sugar add pumpkin a few sections at a time.  As pumpkin begins to melt add 1/2 cup of water to keep from sticking on bottom.  Add the rest of the pumpkin, 1 stick of butter, 1 cup of sugar and water if needed.  Cook over low heat for 2 hours.

One thought on “Fresh Pumpkin into Pie Filling

Leave a Reply

